THE NATIONAL ANTHEM

The anthem, composed originally in Bengali by **Rabindranath Tagore**, was adopted in its Hindi version by the Constituent Assembly as the National Anthem of India on 24 January 1950. It was first sung 27 December 1911 at the Calcutta session of the Indian National Congress. The complete song consists of five stanzas. Playing time of the full version of the National Anthem is **approximately 52 seconds**. A short version consisting of first and last lines of the stanza (playing time approx. 20 seconds) is also played on certain occasions. The lyrics were rendered into English by Tagore himself.

जन गण मन अधिनायक जय हे भारत भाग्य विधाता पंजाब सिंधु गुजरात मराठा द्रविड़ उत्कल वंग विंध्य हिमाचल यमुना गंगा उच्छल जलधि तरंग तव शुभ नामे जागे तव शुभ नामे जागे तव शुभ आशिष मागे गाहे तव जय गाथा जन गण मंगल दायक जय हे भारत भाग्य विधाता जय हे जय हे जय हे जय जय जय जय ह